Every year a large number of organizations – universities, institutes, academies, research centers – are invited to nominate candidates for the prize. The achievements of nominated candidates are evaluated by a special Selection Committee. Current members of the Committee:

Johanna Buchert (Chairperson)

Helsinki, Finland
Professor, Research Director, Natural Resource Institute Finland (Luke)


Dan Binkley

Fort Collins, CO, USA
PhD, MSc, BSF, Professor of Forest Ecology, Department of Ecosystem Science and Sustainability and Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University


Karin Emilsson

Väröbacka, Sweden
M.Sc., Consultant, Emi-Innovation (former Technology Director, Södra), Sweden

Gert-Jan Nabuurs

Wageningen, The Netherlands
Professor, Dr. Ir., Alterra, Wageningen University and Research

John Ralph 2014

John Ralph

Madison, WI, USA
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Department Biological Systems Engineering & D.O.E. Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Saddler photo[1]

John (Jack) N. Saddler

Vancouver, B.C. Canada
PhD FRSC, Professor of Forest Products Biotechnology/Bioenergy; Task Leader, IEA Bioenergy Task 39, Liquid Biofuels; Dean Emeritus, Faculty of Forestry, University of British Columbia

VAcker J portrait 160727

Joris Van Acker

Ghent, Belgium
Professor, Ghent University (UGent), Laboratory of Wood Technology (Woodlab)

Entitled to propose members of the Selection Committee are the following organizations: